My Papa

Image

I had the opportunity to spend about 30 min alone with my Papa’s earthly vessel this afternoon. I know he isn’t here anymore but it was nice just to say goodbye and sing a song just me and my Papa.

I’m thankful for the good times I was able to have with him growing up like having Nature walks, camping and hiking in Colorado, motorcycle rides through the woods, and recently just being able to sing some good gospel songs with him.

As a fireman and army veteran he saw so much life lost and peoples lives devastated, yet he still was a caring, compassionate, tender hearted man. He also was such a Godly man and amazing example of how to be a loving and dedicated husband.

I will miss my Papa, but thankful that he was MY Papa. Him and my Nonnie were huge influences on my life and how I live it today.

I will be singing this song tomorrow morning at His funeral and I was able to sing the chorus to him this afternoon. I did the same thing for my Nonnie 13 years ago in a hospital room just after I prayed with my Papa. It was right before we turned off life support. We knew she wasn’t there. It was just the machines moving breath through her lungs. We knew she was already in the presence of Jesus, but it was nice just to sing it to her. He hugged me and we cried together. His heart was broken as was mine but we found peace in these words.

“I’m tired and so weary, but I must go along
Till the lord comes and calls me, calls me away, oh yes
Well the morning’s so bright
And the lamb is the light
And the night, night is as fair as the day, oh yes

There will be peace in the valley for me, some day
There will be peace in the valley for me, oh Lord I pray
There’ll be no sadness, no sorrow
No trouble, I’ve seen
There will be peace in the valley for me!

Well the bear will be gentle
And the wolf will be tame
And the lion shall lay down by the lamb, oh yes
And the beast from the wild
Shall be led by a little child
And I’ll be changed, changed from this creature that I am, oh yes

There will be peace in the valley for me, some day
There will be peace in the valley for me, oh Lord I pray
There’ll be no sadness, no sorrow
No trouble, I’ve seen
There will be peace in the valley for me!”

So today my heart is broken that my Papa isn’t here on this earth anymore, but these words give me comfort that the peace that my Papa is experiencing right now is also awaiting me.

I Love You Papa!
I will miss you!

~ by blitzz5 on March 28, 2014.

One Response to “My Papa”

  1. We are praying for your family, Michael. How sweet it will be when we are all reunited, never to be separated again.

Leave a Reply

 
